The anonymity of being naked in a crowd.


 
ImageHaving gained some confidence about being naked in public through the early summer, I set off for Oka beach, which has an unofficial nudist area. Oka is a national park and on it’s website it makes no mention of a nudist area, and official signs at the park state that public nudity is a criminal offence punishable by summary conviction. However, like so many things in Quebec, it’s nudge, nudge, wink, wink, and no one cares. As a matter of fact, the beach is patrolled by park wardens on four wheelers to make sure that the nudists stay on the beach, in between the yellow flags, and that there are no sexual shenanigans going on. This is actually OK since it keeps the pervs at bay. The nude area is serviced with public washrooms and outdoor shower and a small canteen selling drinks (including beer) and snacks. However, you have to cover up to walk these 20 feet or so to use these facilities. That made me smile. You have to put on a bathing suit to wash the beach sand off your body.

The day at the beach was altogether a great experience. Lots of men and women and children, young and old, having a good time on the beach, sunning, walking about, chatting and swimming. All together in the all together and with no drama. How refreshing was it to see the plus sized people there not restrained by ill fitting suits, just letting it all hang out, and the beautiful young people just strutting their stuff. I lay back on my beach towel, covered my eyes with my Australian Great Ocean Road cap, and felt the warmth of the sun, the breeze, and listen to the gentle talk of people have a really nice time. I felt lucky to be here and lucky to be so alive. I knew I would return, and have often.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The anonymity of being naked in a crowd.

  1. jillianpage says:

    I made my first visit to Oka beach this past summer, too. I liked it a lot — though, I was a bit shocked at the price of admission and parking. It cost two of us about $25. Considering it is a provincial park which we are already paying for with our tax dollars, you’d think they would charge a nominal fee to enter and park rather than gouge us.

    Still, I will go back next summer — maybe we’ll see you there.

  2. Todd Foley says:

    I’ve yet to find an open place like this where I live. I’ve had to resort to swimming in a nearby river, getting in with board shorts and then taking them off when under the water. Your experience sounds like it was a great one. Such freedom is a wonderful thing, and it’s great to hear of locales where it’s widely accepted and free of taboo. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Leave a Reply

